

# NORTH CENTRAL TEXAS EMERGENCY COMMUNICATIONS DISTRICT 9-1-1 BOARD OF MANAGERS MEETING

Minutes – December 2, 2024 9-1-1 Training Center Room A 600 Six Flags Drive Arlington, Texas

President, Lane Akin, called the meeting of the NCT9-1-1 Board of Managers to order at 12:35 PM on December 2, 2024.

# Members of the Board Present:

- 1. Lane Akin (President) Sheriff, Wise County
- 2. Danny Chambers (Vice President) County Judge, Somervell County
- 3. Skeet Phillips (Secretary) Commissioner, Kaufman County
- 4. Kerry Crews Judge (JOP), Hunt County
- 5. Terry Garrett Sheriff, Rockwall County
- 6. Darrell Hale Commissioner, Collin County
- 7. Brett McGuire Sheriff, Palo Pinto County
- 8. Paul Paschall Mayor, Parker County
- 9. Michael Schaeffer Councilmember, City of Allen
- 10. Randy Stinson Commissioner, Ellis County
- 11. Mike White Commissioner, Johnson County

## Members of the Board Absent:

- 1. Roger Deeds Sheriff, Hood County
- 2. Richard Franklin Councilmember, City of McKinney
- 3. Jose Hernandez Councilmember, City of Seagoville
- 4. Jeff Hodges Councilmember, City of Prosper
- 5. Brandon Huckabee County Judge, Erath County
- 6. Eddie Perry Commissioner, Navarro County

## Members of the Staff Present:

- 1. Mike Eastland NCTCOG Executive Director
- 2. Monte Mercer NCTCOG Deputy Executive Director
- 3. Christy Williams Director of NCT9-1-1
- 4. Kasey Cox 9-1-1 GIS Data Administrator
- 5. Jeremy Crabtree 9-1-1 Systems Administrator II
- 6. Steven Gorena 9-1-1 Field Support Supervisor
- 7. Victoria Griffin 9-1-1 Administrative Assistant
- 8. Ken Kirkpatrick NCTCOG Counsel for Transportation
- 9. Maggie Lira NCTCOG Controller
- 10. Norman Marquart NCTCOG Senior Fiscal Manager
- 11. Kristin McKinney 9-1-1 Visual Media Coordinator
- 12. Prioshi Paul NCTCOG Accountant
- 13. Hilaria Perez 9-1-1 Administrative Program Coordinator
- 14. James Powell NCTCOG Deputy Counsel for Transportation
- 15. Randy Richardson NCTCOG Director of Administration
- 16. LeAnna Russell 9-1-1 GIS Manager

- 17. Jessie Shadowens-James 9-1-1 Chief Administrative Officer
- 18. Megan Short NCTCOG Fiscal Manager
- 19. Jason Smith 9-1-1 Operations Manager
- 20. Tommy Tran 9-1-1 Chief Technology Officer

## **REGULAR SESSION**

# Action:

# Item 1 Approval of the September 18, 2024, Board of Managers Meeting Minutes

President Lane Akin stated that the minutes to be approved were from the September 18, 2024, Board meeting.

# Attachment A

Upon a motion by Sheriff Terry Garrett (seconded by Commissioner Skeet Phillips) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the minutes as presented.

# Item 2 Resolution Approving the Continuation of the North Central Texas Emergency Communications District and the 9-1-1 Emergency Service Fee

NCT9-1-1 was created on December 5, 2018, pursuant to Chapter 772, Subchapter H, of the Texas Health and Safety Code. As outlined in Section 772.620 of the Code, "periodically, the board shall solicit public comments and hold a public review hearing on the continuation of the district and the 9-1-1 emergency service fee. The first hearing shall be held on or before the third anniversary of the date of the District's creation. Subsequent hearings shall be held on or before the third anniversary of the date each resolution required by Subsection (c) is adopted." Notice of the hearing was provided in accordance with the statute and the public was encouraged to submit comments in writing or attend in person to provide feedback. The hearing took place immediately prior this Board meeting. There were no written comments received prior to the meeting nor were any comments made in person during the hearing. The Board was asked to adopt a resolution to continue the District and the 9-1-1 emergency service fee in accordance with Section 772.620(c).

Upon a motion by Judge Danny Chambers (seconded by Commissioner Mike White) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the resolution as presented.

# Item 3 Resolution Authorizing a contract with RapidSOS, Inc. for Single Sign On (SSO) Capabilities

NCT9-1-1 seeks authorization to enter into a contract with RapidSOS, Inc. for single sign on (SSO) capabilities. RapidSOS, Inc. is a critical tool for our call takers, providing real-time, life-saving data during emergency responses. While the service is currently provided at no cost, the full functionality of RapidSOS, Inc. is currently underutilized due to the requirement for a separate login, which necessitates an additional username and password. This complexity has contributed to a decrease in adoption and efficient use by our call takers. The proposed SSO solution will allow our staff to access RapidSOS, Inc., more efficiently by eliminating the need for multiple login credentials, thereby improving system utilization and reducing barriers for quick and accurate data retrieval during emergency situations.

Upon a motion by Commissioner Randy Stinson (seconded by Commissioner Skeet Phillips) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the resolution as presented.

### **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS**

### Item 4 Quarterly Financial report

Megan Short presented the Financial Status Report which included the twelve months ending September 2024.

Attachment B

## Item 5 Director's Report

Positions Up for Appointment/Reappointment – The following positions require appointment/reappointment prior to the March 2025 meeting.

1. City of Allen	6. Kaufman County
2. City of Frisco	7. Palo Pinto County
3. Collin County	8. Rockwall County
4. Erath County	9. Somervell County
5. Johnson County	10. Wise County

## Attachment C

Culture Champion – Victoria Griffin was selected as the fourth-quarter culture champion for NCT9-1-1.

## Attachment D

Accomplishments – NCT9-1-1 accomplishments and achievements were reviewed for the period of September 2024 – November 2024.

Attachment E

Quarterly Reporting – Quarterly reporting for the previous quarter was included in the review.

Attachment F

Board Attendance – Attendance from the previous Board meetings was included for review.

Attachment G

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

- Item 12 Other Business
- Item 13 Adjourn

Upon a motion by Sheriff Terry Garrett (seconded by Commissioner Skeet Phillips) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the meeting was adjourned at 1:03 PM

Next Meeting: March 12, 2025